A note from the Executive Director

I am tremendously humbled to receive the 2017 D.E. Box Citizen of the Year Award from the Grapevine Chamber not because of any accomplishments of my own, but the legacy of the leaders who have preceded me.

To fully appreciate the award’s namesake, some background is appropriate.

D.E. Box moved to Grapevine in 1919 to found the Tarrant County State Bank, which is now known as First National Bank of Grapevine. In the beginning of the 20th century, establishing a local bank was a strategic move so Grapevine families could flourish with commerce and small business following the slump of the First World War.

Box played integral roles in the community, also founding Box Insurance and serving as a Mason and member of the Lions Club and Texas Bankers Association, among others. Upon his death in 1957, The Grapevine Chamber established an award in his name to recognize those who pioneered growth and goodwill to create the unique community we know and love today.

One can hardly imagine how different life was nearly one hundred years ago when shopping plazas were cotton farms, but the spirit of service remains the same. 

Today, the Grapevine Chamber of Commerce continues to honor DE Box’s legacy by identifying a member of our community as a “Citizen of the Year”.  To even be mentioned in the category of the individuals who have received this award over the past 60 years is an honor in and of itself.  I am flattered by this recognition and feel the responsibility of carrying forward the legacy of DE Box and all of the great citizens of this city.

May God bless you and keep you as we serve together.

In His Service,

Shonda's signature

Shonda Schaefer, GRACE Executive Director

Help us congratulate the winners and nominees of the Grapevine Chamber Awards (winners are in bold.)

D.E. Box Citizen of the Year

  • Chris Badger
  • Debbie Gill
  • Scott Mahaffey
  • Teri Rhodes
  • Shonda Schaefer

Business Hall of Fame

  • Edd’s Towing
  • First Financial Bank
  • Grapevine Mills
  • John T. Evans Company
  • Wise Guys Pizzeria

Don Ramey Community Spirit

  • Debbie Gill
  • Susie Howell
  • Joy Mayo
  • Bruno Rumbelow 
  • Natalie Thompson-Garner
  • Elite Care 24 Emergency Room

Member of the Year

  • Kirby Kercheval, KD Factors & Financial Services, LLC
  • Kevin McNamara, Wise Guys Pizzeria 
  • Shonda Schaefer, GRACE
  • Charlie Van Zant, Retired, VIP

Ted Willhoite Legacy Award

  • Mike Davis
  • Jon Michael & Sue Franks 
  • Ken Thompson

Women’s Division Woman of the Year

  • Lori Choate
  • Traci Coy
  • Dottie DiiBon 
  • Marci Junge
  • Janice Kane
  • Emily McRoberts
  • Joe Ann Standlee
  • BJ Wilson

Director of the Year

  • LeAnn Brown 
  • Steve Brown
  • Susie Howell
  • Theresa Mason

Chairman’s Award

  • Steve Brown, Esparza’s Restaurante Mexicano 

Ambassador of the Year

  • Linda Broom 
  • Lori Billman
  • Nancy Cable
  • Bruce Whitlock
  • Teri Rhodes